Author Topic: Piezo Bridge Option  (Read 502 times)

room037

  • club
  • Senior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 547
Piezo Bridge Option
« on: March 03, 2018, 09:31:21 AM »
Hi,

Finally I had finished my work for my main MSB5.
I don't have to say anything, if you had thought about em.

This system is based on Graphtech Ghost Acousti-phonic System.
I ordered the saddle of Ghost PU in my spec to the machinery factory.

Ghost system has some optional SW or Volume, but I don't want major modify of Alembic system.
I've carefully set up these systems, and completed only a few soldering.
Ghost preamp board are placed at Battery Cavity.
Yes, now the bass has no batteries, so it doesn't need 1/4 phone out.
1/4 phone out is Piezo direct out at now. It always be a priority when plugged in to 1/4.
 
The Back Panel has 2 SW.
 "Piezo mix SW" selects 1/4 out or DS-5 Bridge out. Neck & Bridge PUs are mixed to Neck out when the SW is Mixed position. DS-5 mono out included all mixed sound (Neck+Bridge and Piezo)
 "MID-DARK" EQ switch selects 2 different piezo sounds.
 The small hole is Piezo trim Volume for mix position.

I always used 20k resister for mixing both PU out, so the sound reduced in mix position mono out.
I will change the register to 10k.

This is a quick report.
The sounds are next time.

Eiji

David Houck

  • club
  • Senior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12926
Re: Piezo Bridge Option
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2018, 10:02:04 AM »
Intriguing.

gtrguy

  • club
  • Senior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1397
Re: Piezo Bridge Option
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2018, 10:19:03 AM »
My TRB-6P Yamaha has Piezos and they add a nice sound.

edwardofhuncote

  • club
  • Senior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2521
  • What Would McVie Play?
Re: Piezo Bridge Option
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2018, 02:00:10 PM »
Nicely done, Eiji-san.  8)

Somewhere in here, there is a thread with an Alembic that has piezoelectric bridge saddles. It's a guitar I think... can't find it now. 

rv_bass

  • club
  • Senior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1128
Re: Piezo Bridge Option
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2018, 03:58:39 PM »
Very nice, Eiji!  :)   I look forward to hearing it!

The guitar is Bill’s Series I I think. 

room037

  • club
  • Senior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 547
Re: Piezo Bridge Option
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2018, 06:27:31 PM »
Bill's guitar is modified Fernandes Master series.
I was imagined as "Neil's custom Darling" at Factory to Customer.

Eiji

mario_farufyno

  • club
  • Senior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1251
Re: Piezo Bridge Option
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2018, 12:42:18 PM »
Well done, sure we all love to hear it, Eiji.
Not just a bass, this is an Alembic!

rv_bass

  • club
  • Senior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1128
Re: Piezo Bridge Option
« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2018, 12:15:45 PM »
Eiji,

Below is a photo of the RMC pickups that Mica installed in my bass recently (75-174). More photos can be found on the Showcase page as well.

http://club.alembic.com/index.php?topic=8338.0

Rob

« Last Edit: March 07, 2018, 01:31:06 PM by rv_bass »

room037

  • club
  • Senior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 547
Re: Piezo Bridge Option
« Reply #8 on: March 08, 2018, 12:32:32 AM »
Rob, Thank you for the info.
It's a very nice work by factory !

I was also interested RMC PUs, but I choose Ghost PUs for several reasons.
The string groove of the brass saddles are not necessarily the center, so I need to addjust the string spacing.
The Ghost PU is set on the channeled brass saddle.
The PU size is 12mm, just same as original brass saddle.
Because, I made the channneled saddle size 14mm (additional addjustment ±2mm).
Unexpectedly, the PU has hight addjustment. This piezo saddle system has 3 dimension addjust.
But my MSB5 bridge brock is too narrow, It was needed some file work for each saddle. Now these saddles are not interference for each.
I try to remove the under bridge block, it was fixed only one screw. But the screw is just spinning.
All PUs are through the bridge PU's hole to the cavity.

The second reason is easy accessable for buy and ask the question.
I asked many time to Graphtech support. Thank you !

My project needs some more work, maybe the ground issue.
I will check the circuit.

Eiji