Author Topic: Bass rig is so important to getting the right sound!!  (Read 493 times)

jazzyvee

• club
    • NotStrictlyJazz
Bass rig is so important to getting the right sound!!
« on: February 08, 2018, 01:20:36 AM »
I know you guys know this but I'm still a newbie in the bass rig department.
For example the last two nights I've had rehearsal and I took a different  bass on each night. Same rig was at the rehearsal studio a TC Electronics bass head ( no idea of the model but lots of knobs and a red face),  into an 8x10 Behringer bass cab.

I have to say I found it a completely unpleasant experience. I couldn't get anything of the sound I expect from my basses.
It made my basses sound so bland, dull, lifeless that I think if I'd been to buy my first alembic and heard it through that rig I would have not even got into this brand!!!

Forgive me if this is your kind of rig but it was horrid!
The sound of Alembic is medicine for the soul!

jacko

• club
Re: Bass rig is so important to getting the right sound!!
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2018, 01:37:36 AM »
I had the same issue with just about all the rehearsal rooms up here V.  Usually either an Ashdown ABM and 410 or a behringer 810 and some non-descript head. Really bad tone and quite often rattling / buzzing speakers as a result of the local metalheads playing at max volume. Similar problem with showcase style gigs where the venue provides the backline.    I bought a Markbass LM800 to carry in just to be sure of getting a decent, repeatable tone. Nowadays we share a rehearsal space in the country with our drummer's son so I'm using a markbass 410 aswell. Much better sound all round. rehearsals go so much better when I'm not grumbling about the crap tone all night  ;D
We've been recording recently and the band insisted I take my full Mesa Titan / 210 / 410 rig in which we mic'ed aswell as taking a DI, just so we captured the right sound.

Graeme

jazzyvee

• club
    • NotStrictlyJazz