Author Topic: after all these years  (Read 616 times)

nosimplehighway

• Ron Liggett's website
after all these years
« on: January 09, 2018, 08:41:39 AM »
My friends call me Ron. That's one of the names my wife calls me. I've been a bassist since I was 14 years old. Played my first paying gig at 15 in a bar that no longer exists. I'm 68 right now. I'm not a bass collector, but I have a bass collection. I haven't counted them lately, but I'm guessing about a dozen: probably 10 electric basses, an acoustic upright, and an electric upright. I've also got 4 amps and about 10 different sized cabinets. All of my basses are 4 strings. I tried a 5er sometime back and was too inclined to play the low b as an e, an e as an a etc. -- just couldn't wrap my brain around it. I restrung a Kramer aluminum neck to drop tuned BEAD that I can keep up with most of the time. So yeah, I stick to 4 stringers. Nothing high handed about it (you know, Jaco only needed 4...etc.) I'm just content to play within my capabilities.
Just added a used Essence 4 string. I've lusted after an Alembic for years. Some of my heroes have owned Alembics: The Ox, Phil, and Stanley come to mind. I've never owned a hand built bass. Mine are off the rack stock fare so this will be a new experience in some ways for me.
I'm told that if I have any technical questions, this is the place to come.
The only social media I frequent is Facebook.
If you want to know more about me, my music and my life you can go to: www.ronliggett.com
Thanks for bringing me into your forum. -- RL

edwardofhuncote

• club
  • Chain-Links
Re: after all these years
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2018, 09:06:27 AM »
Welcome to the Alembic Club, Ron... coolest place on the internet.  ;)

We love pictures around here, so when you have a chance, post us a few of your new-to-you Essence here in the Showcase section:

http://club.alembic.com/index.php?board=693.0
« Last Edit: January 09, 2018, 09:08:30 AM by edwardofhuncote »

elwoodblue

• club