Author Topic: New arrival in Brazil  (Read 368 times)

marcio.esteves

New arrival in Brazil
« on: December 10, 2017, 06:41:41 AM »
Hello there,
I started playing bass in 85 when I was 14yrs at my school's Orchestra (Orquestra LaSalle) with a hand-made bass built by my father since we have no money. It was a piece of wood, freetless but help me to learn how to play.
At 18yr old I got my first "proffessional" bass and some lessons form the renowned Brazilian bass player Arthur Maia, which I had the honour to follow for some years playing in clubs and doing studio gigs.
In 97 i decided that was time to build my own instrument. Then I meet an Alembic for the first time; it became the instrument of my dreams. I borrowed from instrument's store and took measurements for the neck to build my own from logs of mahogany (body) Peroba Linheira (neck), and Pau Ferro (scale). I still play this bass and other bassist were quite impressed how good is playability and sound (some pics attached).

Several basses later, this Xmas my dream came true when I got my Essence 5 strings bought from nice gentleman at ebay. It has the Europa electronics and ambar side LED's (SN 03K013062).
Funny it arrived and I felt setup was not quite right. I setup it as my taste (very low action with no fret buzz at all) very easily. This is an AMAZING instrument. (pics also attached)

Now two weeks later I took for a gig and setup is REALLY BAD (fret buzz, truss rod...) due to wood accommodation on tropical weather (90% humidity).
So it's time to do setup again.

Cheers from Brazil.
Marcio

edwardofhuncote

• club
  • Chain-Links
Re: New arrival in Brazil
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2017, 07:18:16 AM »
Hola, and welcome Marcio.  :)

That is a beautiful instrument you have - Congratulations & Compliments!

Here is a helpful post from our own J O E Y on setting the action and intonation to your liking: http://club.alembic.com/index.php?topic=311.0