Author Topic: New To Community, Looking At Dream Series I  (Read 320 times)

MortallyWounded

• I'm New Here
New To Community, Looking At Dream Series I
« on: February 03, 2017, 01:17:59 PM »
Hello all...

I'm new to the community and do not own an Alembic... yet. I have been playing bass for about 22 years and have never ventured into the realm of boutiques. My "prettiest" bass is an Ibanez SR1206E Premium, which is a great sixer for church and it has opened my eyes to the possibility of owning a much more expensive instrument. This would be more of an investment than anything else, but I wouldn't just let this sit in a case if I owned it. She'd get played. Moving on...

So yesterday a few of us at TalkBass were chatting about owning something from our date of birth. Today as fortune would have it, I ran across a Series I for sale, S/N 78 1287. She is complete with the power supply, purple lined blue case, and even the original sticker, plus all the cables and then some.

Seller says the potentiometer date codes place it in the 35th week of 1978, making it late August. My DOB would be mid-August 1978, so this is of high interest to me.

Sorry I'm very new to this forum but was hoping to get some info regarding the S/N. Seller purchased this instrument in 1980, so it is not likely she's been around here before. Do we have any sort of timeframe for this serial number? Also, I do not know which power supply this is. I am JUST starting to look into Alembics and haven't had much time to get into the meat of her.
Thanks!

adriaan

• club
Re: New To Community, Looking At Dream Series I
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2017, 03:20:10 PM »
Hi Matt and welcome to the Club.